top of page

HLC: Criteria for Accreditation

Select this image for Accreditation

The Criteria for Accreditation are the standards of quality by which HLC determines whether an institution merits accreditation or reaffirmation of accreditation. Criterion 3 is as follows:

Criterion 3. Teaching and Learning: Quality, Resources, and Support

The institution provides quality education, wherever and however its offerings are delivered.

Core Components

3.A. The rigor of the institution's academic offerings is appropriate to higher education.​

3.B. The institution offers programs that engage students in collecting, analyzing and communicating information; in mastering modes of intellectual inquiry or creative work; and in developing skills adaptable to changing environments.

3.C. The institution has the faculty and staff needed for effective, high-quality programs and student services.

3.D. The institution provides support for student learning and resources for effective teaching.


Click the image below to view the Kriterion 3: Mission

For more information about Criterion 3, contact:

Sarah Leftwich
Jennifer Seymour

To learn more about each criterion click the buttons below:

Criterion History

Last Revised: February 2019, effective September 1, 2020

First Adopted: August 1992

Revision History: Criterion 3 revised August 1998, revised February 2002, revised February 2007; New Criteria for Accreditation adopted February 2003, effective January 2005; New Criteria for Accreditation adopted February 2012, effective January 2013; revised June 2014; revised February 2019, effective September 1, 2020Notes: Former Policy Number: 1.1(a), 2013 – 1.1 Part A, 1.1 Part B. In February 2021, references to the Higher Learning Commission as “the Commission” were replaced with the term “HLC.”

bottom of page