top of page

HLC: Criteria for Accreditation

Select this image for Accreditation

The Criteria for Accreditation are the standards of quality by which HLC determines whether an institution merits accreditation or reaffirmation of accreditation. Criterion 5 is as follows:

Criterion 5. Institutional Effectiveness, Resources and Planning

The institution’s resources, structures, and processes are sufficient to fulfill its mission, improve the quality of its educational offerings, and respond to future challenges and opportunities.

Core Components

5.A. Through its administrative structures and collaborative processes, the institution's leadership demonstrates that it is effective and enables the institution to fulfill its mission.​

5.B. The institution's resource base supports its educational offerings and its plans for maintaining and strengthening their quality in the future.

5.C. The institution engages in systematic and integrated planning and improvement.


Click the image below to view the Kriterion 5: Mission

For more information about Criterion 5, contact:

Marlo Dolezal

To learn more about each criterion click the buttons below:

Criterion History

Last Revised: February 2019, effective September 1, 2020

First Adopted: August 1992

Revision History: Criterion 3 revised August 1998, revised February 2002, revised February 2007; New Criteria for Accreditation adopted February 2003, effective January 2005; New Criteria for Accreditation adopted February 2012, effective January 2013; revised June 2014; revised February 2019, effective September 1, 2020Notes: Former Policy Number: 1.1(a), 2013 – 1.1 Part A, 1.1 Part B. In February 2021, references to the Higher Learning Commission as “the Commission” were replaced with the term “HLC.”

bottom of page